Recently Bought

Browsing through a local Barnes & Noble I picked out a few books that I felt i wanted to read:

Johnny One-Eye: A Tale of the American Revolution, by Jerome Charyn

I’ve never read Jerome Charyn or historical fiction before… but I thought I would give it a shot with this new novel. I look forward, not only to the story line, but to the depictions of life during the Revolutionary War.

The Scandal Plan: Or: How to Win the Presidency by Cheating on Your Wife, by Bill Folman

As someone who likes politics and fiction, and who wrote a book corruption, I anticipated enjoying this story, about a Senator and presidential candidate who creates a phony sex scandal to spice up his candidacy. This is Folman’s first novel.

Submarine, by Joe Dunthorne

Another debut novel, this one from Joe Dunthorne. I don’t know if I will like it or not, but since I enjoyed Nick Hornby’s Slam, which also has a teenage male for the main character, I figured it was worth a shot.

World Made by Hand, by James Howard Kunstler

I’m not sure if I’ll like this one. It depicts a future “when the oil wells start to run dry, the world economy will collapse and society as we know it will cease.” But it takes place in upstate New York, where I’ve recently moved to,

Still working on a couple other books, but I hope to get started on these soon.

