Split Ergonomic Keyboards and The Dvorak Layout

My switch to Dvorak has also brought me to switch to ergonomic split keyboards. I bought a Microsoft Natural Keyboard Elite for work, a recently got the Goldtouch for Mac Adjustable Keyboard for home. The Goldtouch keyboard has been a big disappointment for me and I have decided to return it. The biggest problem I have had with it is the sensitivity of keys being different than what I am used to. The bizarre arrangement of some feature keys has also been an issue. I would like a split ergonomic keyboard designed for the Mac, but I have yet to find the right one. Adesso has such a keyboard but the ‘6’ key is on the right side of the split, which is not how it should be.

So the search continues. If I don’t find a good enough split ergonomic keyboard designed for the Mac soon I may just get a Microsoft Natural Keyboard Elite (which feels great) and use Mac keyboard stickers on the ‘Ctrl,’ ‘Windows,’ and “Alt” keys to give me the Dvorak keyboard layout.

2 thoughts on “Split Ergonomic Keyboards and The Dvorak Layout

  1. Hi Matt,
    I found your post while researching for a ergonomic dvorak keyboard for my techy husband. He has wanted one for a long time so I decided it was time to purchase him one as a surprise for Christmas. The problem is, I have absolutely no idea what to look for. The only one I’ve found is a switchable one by Kinesis (I think that’s how you spell it). Can you offer any advice or links that would be helpful? Thanks!

  2. I personally have found that using a Microsoft split ergonomic keyboard and applying Dvorak keyboard stickers is the best.. I’ve tried KeyOvation’s adjustable keyboard… and didn’t like how it felt. the keys felt different than what i am used to.

    I use a Microsoft Natural Keyboard Elite with Dvorak Simplified non-transparent keyboard stickers applied.

    As much as I hate Microsoft, (I am a Mac person) this is what I use at work and am about to use at home — I just bought both of these again since I returned the KeyOvation keyboard (which wasn’t worth the $90.00 it costs)

    Getting a Dvorak Keyboard isn’t worth the money, getting a keyboard that you are comfortable with and putting the stickers on is the best way, in my opinion.

Comments are closed.