My “Best Of” Lists For 2008

Since it’s the end of the year, I thought I’d post my typical year-end lists for the year.

Top Five Books I Bought In 2008 And Plan To Finish In 2009

  1. Primary Colors, by Anonymous
  2. Johnny One-Eye, by Jerome Charyn
  3. Cross Country, James Patterson
  4. On Beauty, Zadie Smith
  5. Empire Falls, by Richard Russo


I bought a lot of books in 2008, but didn’t finish or start as many as I would have liked. I suspect that 2009 will be a better year for my fiction reading.

Top Five Movies Seen in 2008:

  1. Pineapple Express
  2. The Dark Knight
  3. Juno
  4. The Bucket List
  5. Cloverfield

Other movies I saw that were good, but don’t make the top 5: The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian, Smart People, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Wall-E, Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist. The movie Juno makes this list even thoughI saw it in 2007 because I saw it after I posted last year’s Top 5 list.

Top Four Movies I Will Wait To See on DVD

  1. Zack and Miri
  2. Quantum of Solace
  3. Role Models
  4. The Incredible Hulk

There weren’t many movies I really wanted to see in 2008, and there weren’t many that I had to choose from that I missed.

Top Three New Books To Read 2009

  1. Juliet Naked, by Nick Hornby
  2. 8th Confession, by James Patterson
  3. Ape House, by Sara Gruen

Missing from this list is the next installment of James Patterson’s Maximum Ride series — which has gotten worse and worse each installment. I will read the next one… but I can’t say I am looking forward to it. Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club Series has stayed strong and I look forward to that one. Of course, the book I am anxiously awaiting is Nick Hornby’s new novel, with the working title Juliet Naked, due out in the fall. Sara Gruen’s next novel is also highly anticipated. I loved her previous novel, Water For Elephants, and hope that Ape House will be just as good.

Top Five Movies I’m Planning To See In 2009:

  1. Atlas Shrugged
  2. Revolutionary Road
  3. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
  4. An Education
  5. Terminator Salvation

Atlas Shrugged and Revolutionary Road were both on last year’s list (I read both novels). However, the release date Atlas Shrugged was pushed to 2009, and Revolutionary Road will only have a limited release before the New Year.

Top Five iPhone Apps:

  1. Facebook App
  2. Twittelator Pro
  3. Amazon
  4. Shazam
  5. Ebay

Lots of good apps to choose from…. These would probably be the ones I use most frequently. It tis great to keep track of things on Facebook and Twitter, or to easily make purchases on Amazon and bids n eBay. Shazam has been a valuable tool for identifying songs on the radio I liked but didn’t know, or couldn’t remember at all.

If I have any more lists for the year, I’ll post them here as updates.

One thought on “My “Best Of” Lists For 2008

Comments are closed.