Fifteen Books in Fifteen Minutes

Saw someone do this on Facebook, so I thought I’d give it a whirl…

According to the rules of this exercise,

Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes. Tag 15 friends, including me because I’m interested in seeing what books my friends choose.

(To do this, go to your Notes tab on your profile page, paste rules in a new note, cast your 15 picks, and tag people in the note – upper right hand side).

In no particular order…

  1. One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest, by Ken Kesey
  2. A Long Way Down, by Nick Hornby
  3. Atlas Shrugged, by Ayn Rand
  4. The Fountainhead, by Ayn Rand
  5. High Fidelity, by Nick Hornby
  6. Planet of the Apes, by Pierre Boulle
  7. Visions of the Anointed, by Thomas Sowell
  8. 1984, by George Orwell
  9. The Maltese Falcon, by Dashiell Hammett
  10. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, by Betty Smith
  11. Slam. by Nick Hornby
  12. The Collected Short Stories of Philip K. Dick
  13. Kiss The Girls, by James Patterson
  14. Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley
  15. Water For Elephants, by Sara Gruen

To be honest, I don’t entirely understand what a book that “will always stick with you” means… Is it a book that if you grab if you ran out of your burning house? Is it a book that just left an impression on you? Whatever it means, I did the best I could to come up with books that “stick with me.” though I imagine there are some that may not always appear on this list if I was asked to do this exercise on a different occasion. Kiss The Girls by James Patterson for instance, may not be my favorite of his novels, but it was the first one I read, and began many years of reading and collecting his books. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley may not be a favorite book either, mut boy did it leave an impression on me.

One thought on “Fifteen Books in Fifteen Minutes

Comments are closed.