Okay, it’s been… too long since I last blogged. Perhaps this year will be different. Anyway, my last post was my favorite books read in 2012, so my first post this year will be my favorite books read in 2014. For reference, here is a list of all the book I read in 2014, courtesy of my Goodreads 2014 Reading Challenge page. I had anticipated not having a lot of time to read last year, and originally set my goal for 45 books. I ended up reading 50.

The Martian, by Andy Weir – Easily my favorite book read in 2014. Soon after starting this novel I knew I was in for a treat. I hadn’t been so excited about finishing a novel since I read Ready Player One. This book was so good I had to purchase a hardcover for my bookshelf.

Days to Read: 6
Format: Audiobook

Rating: 5 Stars

The Man Who Ended The World, by Jason Gurley – I ended up reading a few stories by Jason Gurley in 2014, and this one was my favorite. An interesting take on apocalyptic fiction, I was always wondering how things were going to turn out. I enjoyed the book enough to read two more stories by Gurley in 2014, and plan to read more in 2015.

Days to Read: 2
Format: Audiobook

Rating: 4 Stars

Flat-Out Love, by Jessica Park – I was curious about this book because it takes place in Boston, and I was able to listen to the audiobook for free, thanks to my Kindle Unlimited subscription. It turned out to be quite an interesting story. At some point I may read the sequel.

Days to Read: ?
Format: Audiobook

Rating: 4 Stars

Tell The Wolves I’m Home, by Carol Rifka Brunt – An interesting coming of age story set in the 1980s. An exceptionally well-written debut novel.

Days to Read: 2
Format: Audiobook
Rating: 4 Stars

Off To Be The Wizard, by Scott Meyer – I was immediately drawn to this book by both the cover art and the plot. The main character, Martin Banks, discovers a computer file that allows him to manipulate reality, and ultimately takes himself back to the Middle Ages to live as a wizard. I have since read both of its sequels.

Days to Read: 3
Format: Audiobook

Rating: 4 Stars

The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion – I found the premise interesting and took a chance on this novel, and as the only novel on this list read in eBook format, I found myself actually reading late into the night to further my progress because I enjoyed the story so much.

Days to Read: 11
Format: Kindle eBook

Rating: 5 Stars

One More Thing, by B.J. Novak – After being thoroughly disappointed by James Franco’s two short story compilations, I was skeptical of what B.J. Novak had to offer. I was pleasantly surprised by the wit, humor and insight of his short fiction.

Days to Read: 3
Format: Audiobook

Rating: 4 Stars

The Silver Linings Playbook, by Matthew Quick – It took a while after this book was recommended to me to actually read it, but it was very enjoyable. I ended up reading two more novels by the author, but this one was my favorite of the three.

Days to Read: 2
Format: Audiobook

Rating: 4 Stars


As disappointed as I am to say this, but Funny Girl, by Nick Hornby did not make my list of favorite books. I’d been anxiously awaiting a new novel from Nick Hornby for a few years now, but this one just didn’t do it for me. It was well written, and a good story, but didn’t feel like classic Hornby, and while I understand that Hornby, as a writer, has grown and evolved, I still would rather read stuff more like his debut novel High Fidelity.

In 2015, I hope to have more balance between books read on my Kindle and books I listen to the audiobooks.  I also will be making an effort to read more books my conservative indie authors. Last year I wrote a piece on Medium about conservatives and the culture war, and as a result I got invited to a closed group on Facebook of conservative authors. There’s a lot of creative talent on the right, and I look forward to reading their work.

 

